Tips for clear iphone space

Author:Alice | TIME:November 10,2017


When you start running short on space on your iPhone, you can start deleting apps and offloading photos and videos to free up space or you can expand your storage. You can also try to trick your iPhone into freeing up some space.

 

Because no one likes to be forced to delete apps or deal with photo storage, let's look at a few ways you can reclaim some space on your iPhone without taking such drastic measures.

 

1. Stop storing texts forever

 

By default, your iPhone stores all of the text messages you send and receive... forever. This is convenient if you need to look up a 15-month-old conversation; not so convenient if you need that storage space back. To stop your phone from saving texts forever, open up the Settings app and tap Messages. Scroll down until you find Message History and tap Keep Messages. Change Forever to 30 Days or 1 Year. A pop-up will ask you if you want to delete older messages; tap Delete to proceed.

1510308383303664.png

2. Don't double-save photos

 

If you use your iPhone's HDR mode or Instagram a lot, you've probably noticed that your phone automatically saves two photos: the HDR version and the normal version (or, in the case of Instagram, the filtered, cropped Instagram version and the normal version).

 

To stop double-saving HDR photos, open the Settings app and go to Photos & Camera. Scroll down to the bottom and untick the toggle next to Keep Normal Photo. If you have an iPhone 7 Plus, you'll see a similar toggle for Portrait mode that you can also disable.

 

To stop double-saving Instagram photos, open the Instagram app, tap your profile tab and then tap the Settings (gear) icon in the upper right corner. Under Settings, untick the toggle next to Save Original Photos.

1510308413387958.png

3. Stop the Photo Stream

 

The photos in your Photo Stream take up space -- though not as much as original photos, because they're uploaded to your device at a "device-optimized resolution," according to Apple. You probably don't need these photos, since they're probably just duplicates of photos that are already on your device.

 

To turn Photo Stream off, open the Settings app and go to Photos & Camera and toggle off Upload to My Photo Stream. The photos in your Photo Stream will be deleted from your iPhone, but they will remain on any other devices (such as your iPad or computer) for which you have Photo Stream turned on. They'll also remain on your iCloud account for 30 days from the date they were uploaded.

 1510308523229895.png


Featured Deals


Related Articles

Get Featured Ringtones, Videos and Wallpaper from FunForMobile
SMTP Settings for Windows Live Hotmailcom Email Address
Top 5 Websites to Download Free Ringtones for Android and iPhone
What if i forgot apple id password
Track and change location with Wechat on iPhone
How to Fix Preparing SD Card Error Stuck on Android
How to Recover Deleted Facebook Messages on Android?
How to Fix Process COM Android MMS Has Stopped Error on Android?
Practical Solutions to Kik Login & Operation Issues